Photo

Need help with playing flac files

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 Horley2

Horley2

• Members
  • 19,110 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:07 AM

I am new to downloading shows. My first successful download was the Apollo show that was a RAR file (once I discovered that I needed to download WinRAR). Not sure how I did it, but it did not take long for me to download and listen to the Apollo show.

I now have tried downloading the Tampa show that was posted on this board from Dime. I downloaded the Free Torrent Viewer and it appears I have the files in my computer as a flac. Windows Media Player is saying that it does not support these files. I have tried Google to get a remedy buy my head is now spinning from all the different advice. Converting each flac file to a WAV or mp3 seems like a hassle if instead I can find a program to download that will allow me to listen to the songs or that will allow WIndows Media Player to support the files.

If you couldn't tell, I have a large learning curve. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Phil

#2 riverdude2

riverdude2

• Members
  • 7,271 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:43 AM

Windows Media Player won't play .flac files as you know. I'd suggest you download VLC Player (it's free) from here http://www.videolan.org/vlc/. It will play almost type of audio and video file including .flac.

Should you wish to burn a CD from your .flac files then Burrrn (also free) will do that for you http://www.burrrn.net/?page_id=4

All the best.

#3 CE'S USED CARS

CE'S USED CARS

• Members
  • 6,494 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:23 PM

I use winamp to play Flac files it's a free download.

Official two time watcher of Incident full band live Hamden 2009 (thanks dean for the ticket)
Paris night 2 2012 (best indoor show i've ever seen)

#4 Growin' Up

Growin' Up

• Members
  • 8,975 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:42 PM