Jump to content
Greasy Lake Community


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Frank

  1. A former presidential candidate gave it to him after one of his Broadway shows. At first Bruce thought he wanted it autographed...
  2. I don’t know, but it is possible.
  3. Absolutely. Jokes aside, what will be performed this year will probably be as bipartisan as it gets (especially by Bruce).
  4. Biden came out on ‘Wtcooo’ the night the election was called, so who knows...
  5. How about ‘That’s What Makes Us Great’?
  6. The album is out. It’s as beautiful as it must have been heartfelt.
  7. Nice, I would have died for such a box twenty-five years ago (as for the whole 'archive' stuff). But nowadays live shows aren't my cup of coffee anymore.
  8. Well, only Bob knows his mind, but this is the guy who featured in a Victoria's Secret commercial, and who won an Oscar award (that he has been bringing onstage ever since) for writing, 'People are crazy and times are strange / I'm locked in tight, I'm out of range / I used to care, but things have changed'. And this was two decades ago. Not saying that that song was autobiographical per se, but things doesn't seem to have improved in the last twenty years or so.
  9. Second track out. Great version of a song that always made me think of Sweet Little '66 (and to Pink Cadillac and to Racing in The Street). So sad such an album has to be recorded in the first place, but if the rest of it is good as of the first two songs, it's going to be awesome.
  10. Well, I remember reading that Dylan, despite his fame, isn't as wealthy as one might imagine, because of ex wives and stuff. His never ending tour has been a his way of life, but it might also have had financial reasons behind it. But regardless of Bob's bank account (hey, he will always have my couch at his disposal if he ever needs a roof ) I'm afraid these catalogue sales hint at what streaming will mean for music business in the near future in terms of royalties and revenues. And it does NOT bode well for artists, if icons think it's time to give away their rights.
  11. He’s always been kind of... reckless....
  12. Please, stop with this pointless consumer mentality. The old one still works perfectly. No reason to junk it for a sexier model.
  13. I wouldn't worry about tickets. Bruce's fanbase isn't getting any younger. Unless Bruce decides to play smaller venues or just a few selected arenas à la Magic tour (2007 European leg, I mean), no fans will go without tickets. In this respect, I wouldn't underestimate the long term effects of a world pandemic which has basically frozen the live show business and its demand with it. It will probably take years before casual fans feel confortable with mass gatherings again. And most of them will probably give up going to concerts altogether, especially if they're past their prime. Bruce's studio
  14. Well, in Europe, Rock ‘n roll audience is, on average, ten year younger than in the U.S.A. There’s still plenty of younger adults wanting to see acts that belong to their parents’ generation and find them cool. Springsteen in particular. That’s the key difference to me.
  15. No reason to compare these two albums, IMHO. It would be like comparing The River to Nebraska.
  16. Not for me, please. Christmas pop music makes no sense to me.
  17. Sad news. He was still so young. R.I.P.
  18. I'm going out on a limb here, but I wouldn't be surprised if Power Of Prayer had been originally written for the long rumored "gospel" album, with the later addition of the Ben(ny) E. King lines just to fit the Letter to You theme. With the exception of the those lines, the lyrics basically revisit the Roll of the Dice trope: love as a gambling game (with cards instead of dice) which is worth playing. The bouncer etc stuff seems cut from something like House of a Thousand Guitars (which would have benefited from an additional verse instead of its redundant coda, IMHO), and pasted to Power Of P
  19. As much as I like Western Stars, I wouldn’t welcome an orchestra tour or Classic album revision. I mean, it might well work, but it’s not what Bruce’s music is about, IMHO. It’s hard to present the voice of the man of the street, when backed the a symphonic orchestra. I few years ago I saw on his Symponicity tour. It wasn’t bad at all, but I honesty paid little attention to the orchestra.
  20. Do you want to hear the BTR stuff backed by an orchestra? It’s been out since 1977. Ask Jim Steinman.
  21. Thank you for posting the videos. It's great to see Bruce live performing for that cause. That being said, the acoustic rendition of both 'Letter to you' songs really shows how their raison d'être is the E Street Band. Without the support of the band, both songs show all their limits, IMHO.
  22. from Steve's website: On the forthcoming album, J.T., Steve Earle & The Dukes pay tribute to Steve’s late son, Justin Townes Earle (J.T.), who passed away on August 20, 2020 in Nashville. The album will be released digitally on what would have been Justin’s 39th birthday, January 4, 2021, via New West Records. J.T. finds Steve Earle & The Dukes covering 10 of Justin’s songs – from “I Don’t Care,” which appeared on his 2007 debut EP, Yuma, and a trio of selections from his full-length debut album, The Good Life (“Ain’t Glad I’m Leaving,” “Far Away In Another Town” and “
  23. The film vesion gives Patti a well-deserved spotlight in the documentary. On the one hand, it's a pity her backing vocals very turned down on the album. On the other hand, the virtual duet of the documentary would have probably made the song too much of an "aging-comple-ever-after-love-promise", which is not what the song is about.
  • Create New...