Nicola

Steve's guitar and Nils guitar in live songs: differences

I'm not an expert, But it seems to me that in the old songs (Spirit, Tent Avenue, Es Street Shuffle, Rosie, ecc) Steve's guitar is more functional. Nils is better in hard songs (Murder, Cover me, Light of day, ecc), What do you think?

Possibly the songs they originally played on are the ones that they feature on in concert. Give or take.

There's no doubt that Nils wipes the floor with Bruce and Steve (and Patti and Soozie :lol: ) when it comes to ESB  guitar talent.

• Like 7

18 minutes ago, Promise61 said:

Possibly the songs they originally played on are the ones that they feature on in concert. Give or take.

There's no doubt that Nils wipes the floor with Bruce and Steve (and Patti and Soozie :lol: ) when it comes to ESB  guitar talent.

True, but i'd much rather hear a solo by Bruce / Steve (particularly younger day SVZ).  Less technical perhaps, but a lot more heart. 

• Like 3
  • Bruuuuce! 1

36 minutes ago, Growin' Up said:

but a lot more heart. 

I'd respectfully disagree - I think Nils' playing is filled with heart and soul, you can see it in his face when he plays

I can see where you're coming from, though, as he is tasked with playing the same solos over and over again at shows (looking at you Because the Night)

• Like 5

3 hours ago, Growin' Up said:

True, but i'd much rather hear a solo by Bruce / Steve (particularly younger day SVZ).  Less technical perhaps, but a lot more heart. 

When Steve played Spirit, Tenth Avenue and Jungleland in the 70's... was perfect... great sound and funky... very ricognizable

but Nils solo in Cover me, Youngstown or his guitar moments in Murder, Promised Land, Radio nowhere, etc was awesome

• Like 2

3 hours ago, BobbyJames said:

I'd respectfully disagree - I think Nils' playing is filled with heart and soul, you can see it in his face when he plays