Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band to Headline their first broadcast network television special

Press release, 2003-01-30, by:
Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band are set to headline their first broadcast network television special, BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN AND THE E STREET BAND, which will be broadcast on Friday, Feb. 28 (9:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network.
The E Street Band, made up of Roy Bittan (keyboards), Clarence Clemons (saxophone and percussion), Danny Federici (keyboards), Nils Lofgren (guitar), Patti Scialfa (vocals and guitar), Garry Tallent (bass), Steven Van Zandt (guitar) and Max Weinberg (drums), will perform with Springsteen, along with special guest violinist Soozie Tyrell! .

The concert special features "The Rising," "Lonesome Day," and "You're Missing" from Springsteen's album The Rising, in addition to "Darkness on the Edge of Town" and others. The Rising has been nominated for Grammy Awards in Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Male Rock Performance, Best Rock Song and Best Rock Album categories.

The Rising marks Springsteen's first album of new songs with the E Street Band since 1984. It debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart, has been certified double platinum, and was recently identified as one of 2002's best albums by Rolling Stone, Blender, Entertainment Weekly, and others.

Springsteen has previously won seven Grammy Awards: Best Male Rock Vocal (three times, 1985, 1988 and 1995), Best Song for a Motion Picture/Television in 1995 for "Streets of Philadelphia," Best Song of the
Year in 1995 for "Streets of Philadelphia," Best Rock Song in 1995 for "Streets of Philadelphia," and Best Contemporary ! Folk Album in 1996 for "Ghost of Tom Joad." In addition, Springsteen won an Academy Award in 1994 for Best Song for "Streets of Philadelphia" and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1999.

Jon Landau and Barbara Carr are executive producers of the special. The show was produced by George Travis, directed by Chris Hilson and edited by Thom Zimny. All music was recorded and mixed by Brendan O'Brien.